Why we made these changes:
There are many instances, initiatives, and use cases when it is necessary to assign courses to specific individuals rather than to a group. Individual course assignment will make it easier to assign the right Learners to the right courses.
To reduce the complexity of managing users in courses, we are transitioning from active groups at the user level to prioritized groups at the course level. This change will enable administrators to add Learners to groups without the additional effort of deciding which group should be the Learner’s highest priority.
When to use individual assignment:
- Courses for remediation, when individuals have a specific need for additional training not applicable to a group at-large.
- Courses for career advancement, when individuals are working toward a promotion not applicable to a larger or a new group.
- Limited on-boarding or re-boarding, when a single user outside of a new hire class needs ramping up.
How Individual Assignment Works:
Historically, courses are assigned to users at the group-level. With the introduction of individual assignment, administrators and managers can assign an individual Learner to courses by:
- Using the “Assign User” button on the Users tab of Step 5 of Course Creation to assign an individual or multiple individuals to a course. This will assign the user to the course with a Priority value of “Individual.”
- An existing user’s Priority can be changed from “Group” to “Individual” which allows their Course Status and Due Date to differ from the rest of the group to which they are assigned.
Note: Changing a user’s Priority from “Group” to “Individual” will not change their membership to the group; only their assignment settings for the course will change.
- The Course Status of the user can be one of four options:
- Required: The course is required, visible on the user’s Dashboard, and will appear in Reporting
- Elective: The course is not required, is visible on the user’s Dashboard as elective, and will only appear in Reporting if the users have opted into the course
- Hidden: The course is required and will appear in Reporting, but will not be visible on the user’s Dashboard
- Unassigned: The course is not visible on the user’s Dashboard and will not appear in Reporting
- You can remove a user from a course if they are initially assigned as part of a group. Their priority will be changed to “individual” and their course status will be switched to “unassigned,” but they will still appear in the list of users in the group. They will not see the course on their Dashboard, nor will they appear in Reporting for that course. These Learners cannot be completely removed from the course unless the group they belong to is also removed.
- A user’s manager will have the ability to view the course content (Tests, Pitch IQs, and progress in Reporting) for their direct reports. The user’s manager can also be automatically assigned to the Pitch IQ panel for that course.
How Group Prioritization works:
Group Prioritization allows Admins to rank groups assigned to a course based on the priority of Course Status and Due Date for its users. For example, if a user is a member of two groups assigned to a course, their course status and due date will be taken from the highest ranked group. This ranking streamlines the process of adding a user to a group because the Admin has already made the decision of group priority at the course level.
To use Group Prioritization, simply navigate to the Groups tab on Step 5 of Course Creation and drag and drop a group to a higher or lower rank using the grippy icons to the left of the group rows.