Course Creation, Step 5: Assign Groups

Step 5 – Assign Groups

Step 5 is where we determine which groups will be assigned to complete this course.  Course assignment is done on a group level, not an individual level.  If you need to assign an individual to a course, you will need to create a group for them.

To assign a group to complete this course, you can select it from the drop down menu or type in the name of the group.  Once you’ve selected a group to assign to this course, you will have several options available to you:

 

  • Elective – selecting this option provides Learners with the ability to choose to opt in to a course, without it being part of their required learning.
    • Best practices - This gives Learners the ability to create their own learning path by choosing from a library of topics. It also gives Learners the opportunity to take courses about different job roles/functions.  So someone in the sales team can take course work more focused on account management, and vice versa.  This is a great way to ensure everyone is on the same page and understands the impacts each job role has on the organization.
  • Hidden – at any time either prior to or after publishing a course, you can mark it as Hidden. Doing so will remove this course from a Learners Dashboard, allowing you to make any necessary changes to the content or structure before making it visible again.
    • Best practices – you can use this to determine when you want Learners to see and take courses based on your schedule.
  • Due Date – you can click on None to choose between the different due date options you can assign to each group:
    • Fixed – this requires you to select a specific date by which everyone in this group must complete this course. If Learners do not complete the course by the due date, they will not earn the accolade for this course (if assigned).
    • Rolling – rolling due dates give Learners a set number of days in which to complete this course once it’s been published, or once they’ve been assigned to the group. If you select 7, every member of this group will have 7 days to complete the course from when it’s published.  This particularly valuable for groups that you’re regularly adding people to.

For example, if you are regularly adding sales reps to your outside sales group, as soon as you add them to that group, they will have 7 days to complete this course, even if you published it months before.

  • Date Added – tells you when you added this group to this course, which helps with due date management
  • Actions – there are several options under the Actions icon you can choose from:
    • Remind – will send a reminder to only that group to complete this course
    • Delete – will remove this group from this course
    • Prioritize – will make this group the active group for all members for this course. This has an effect on both reporting and Pitch IQ reviews.  By choosing Prioritize, you’re deciding which group will show completion, Test and Pitch IQ data in Reporting if users are part of more than one group.

For example, John Doe is in the Outside Sales group and the Chicago Sales group.  If you assign both groups to complete this course, and choose to Prioritize the Outside Sales group, John (and anyone else that is in both groups), will have their data stored against the Outside Sales group.  So when you go into Reporting and look at this course, you will see John’s name and data in the Outside Sales group, and not in the Chicago Sales group.

Similarly for Pitch IQ reviews, the Managers of the Outside Sales group will be required to review John’s pitch, whereas the Managers of the Chicago Sales group will not see his pitch at all.

If a Manager is assigned to both groups, they will see John’s pitch and be able to provide their score, feedback and coaching.

 

You’ll be able to click on the group to see the users who are part of this group, or you can click on Users above the drop down menu to see all users in all groups assigned to this course.  In this view, you’ll be able to see each user’s name and email address, as well as their Active Group.

Active Group works in exactly the same was as Prioritize (see above for reference), in that it will determine where the Reporting data for this user is for this course, as well as which Managers will be required to score and provide coaching and feedback for their pitch.

You’ll also be able to individually adjust each user’s due date based on their timelines and requirements.

There is an option in the top right hand corner of the page to go to User Management if you’d like to make any adjustments to the users and groups assigned to this course.

 

Once you’ve assigned the groups and selected the various options for each, you will be able to move on to the last step in the course creation process.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk